Review: Dear Martin by Nic Stone

This is such a relevant novel. Anyone who likes YA, and even those who don’t, should read this. This book tackles serious issues in an incredibly moving way…

Read More

Review: Love, Hate, & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera…

Read More

Review: Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

An ode to Put the Damn Guns Down, this is National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestseller Jason Reynolds’s fiercely stunning novel that takes place in sixty potent seconds—the time it takes a kid to decide whether or not he’s going to murder the guy who killed his brother…

Read More

Review: Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore

My Rating: 3.5 stars. For nearly a century, the Nomeolvides women have tended the grounds of La Pradera, the lush estate gardens that enchant guests from around the world. They’ve also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish…

Read More

Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

I received Eliza and Her Monsters in the May OwlCrate box, and I was really happy with this book choice. I don’t read much contemporary, so I love it when book subscription boxes include contemporary because it allows me to branch out from my usual fantasy reading habits. Normally when I receive a book from OwlCrate, it takes me a while, sometimes months, to get around to reading it. But for some reason, I just really wanted to read Eliza and Her Monsters, so I started it the very next day! I finished this book in two days, so clearly I loved it a lot! I was immediately drawn into the story and the characters, and I found this to be a refreshing and completely relatable contemporary novel…

Read More

Review: The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry

Normally I never would have bought this book for myself, but I received this in one of my recent OwlCrate boxes, and I included this in my May TBR pile, so I felt like I had to read it. The first half of this book mostly felt like contemporary to me, and that’s probably why I didn’t really like it. I’m fairly picky when it comes to what contemporary books I like, and most contemporary novels I read end up having pretty much the same story line. Girl meets boy. However, the second half of this book was definitely more interesting to me. It kind of focused less on the boy/friend/family issues, and more on the supernatural aspect of the plot…

Read More